A Teacher is Forever the Student

Confession: I am an uber yogi (shocking, I know). Back in the summer of 2008, I began on a journey that continues to this day. My bookshelves at home are stocked with books like Yoga Anatomy, Light on Yoga, and Happy Yoga. Nestled amongst all these published works is a beat up binder that marks one of the most important time periods of my life thus far: my yoga teacher training. This binder (my personal bible) has some of the most useful information on yoga that I have found, but more importantly it contains memories of 8 hour long training sessions, great friends, sweaty and challenging ashtanga series, physical transformation and the solidification of my life’s passion.Namaste

I have been teaching yoga for over 4 years, and there is nothing that puts my mind at ease and makes me feel like I am contributing to the world more than teaching. For all you yogis out there, I will fill you in on a little secret. There is a moment at the end of class, when everyone is resting in savasana (corpse pose) and I take a moment to look around the room. As the students absorb their yoga practice, I absorb the energy of the room. Regardless of what the vibe was when class began, the energy at the end is always positive, calm and almost glowing. This is why I teach. I teach to bring bliss to those who choose to share their practice not only with me, but also with their fellow yogis.

A few weeks ago, I had the opportunity to lead a workshop. My fellow teacher Christine and I spent weeks planning. We are both arm balance junkies and decided that there was nothing we would rather spend 2 hours teaching than some our favorite poses. After taking some time off from teaching regular classes, I was itching to get back into rhythm. It was, by far, the most rewarding experience I have had in a long time. The group of students was fantastic. Eager to learn, energized, and dedicated, they had enthusiasm and passion to match. Nervousness disappeared as soon as I began talking about bandhas, anatomy, breath and all that encompasses the beautiful union that is yoga.

From noon to 2:45pm, Christine and I watched students fly for the first time, use muscles they didn’t even know existed, and smile despite the physical challenge. Once in savasana, I took a second to acknowledge the work that we had put in, the changes we had made in our students’ practices and the complete experience that we had created not only for those who attended, but for ourselves.

Rewarding and accomplishment are two words I would use to characterize teaching. However, the most important adjective is love. Love for both the challenging and easy poses, love for the breath, love for the energy, love the practice of teaching and love for the symbiotic relationship of it all. As a teacher, I am the perpetual student. Always learning from my experiences, fellow teachers and fellow yogis means that I am evolving. The journey to be a teacher began in 2008, my journey as a student will last forever – and I simply cannot wait for everything along the path.

-Lexie

One thought on “A Teacher is Forever the Student

  1. Pingback: We’re old. | Workout Wonks

Leave a Reply

