2013: My Year of “Yes”

As January comes to a close, I thought it timely to (finally) share my one, and only New Year’s resolution. While many of us resolve to eat fewer candy bars and more veggies, drink less alcohol and more water, watch less TV and do more exercise, I have resolved to make 2013 my year of “yes.” While I strive, as I do every year, to be a little healthier than the prior 12 months, I have a feeling that 2013 will be a big year and needed a simple mantra that could complement and adapt to each passing day.

“Yes” and “no” are simple, yet powerful words. They inherently embody the positive and the negative. In reflecting upon 2012, I found that the “no” was a little too present in my vocabulary. Therefore, I am making a conscious decision in 2013 to say “yes” to those things that can enhance my experiences and contribute to my well-being.

I am dedicated to my fitness routines. Yoga will forever remain my passion, but in my exercise journey I have begun to say “yes” to a variety of different activities. Recently I have become mildly obsessed with spinning. Despite years of aversion to running, I find myself enjoying a short 3-mile escape from the daily grind. Boxing gave me the ability to be aggressive for a short 60 minutes. The punching bag embodies my obstacles, and after an hour of extreme cathartic release, I feel extremely liberated. Kettle bells, TRX, CrossFit and many more are on my 2013 “yes” list and will have accompanying WorkoutWonks musings.

My dad is an outstanding role model and provides some of the best advice I have ever, and probably will ever receive. The one nugget of wisdom that has particularly resonated with me is that the only thing that is constant in life is change. 2013 has already, and stands to have much more change. In acknowledging that fluctuations in the continuum of life and varied experiences are what make the journey worth exploring is without a doubt the most valuable insight I could have.

I encourage you to say yes to a meal or drinks with an old friend, yes to a concert on a school/work night, yes to an otherwise intimidating new fitness class or yes to a spontaneous vacation. It is because of those things to which you say yes that your life will change for the better. Some experiences may less than exciting, but some may end up lighting up your day, week, month or year. You never know unless you just say “yes”.

CAVEAT: There are a handful of things to which I will always say no. For an abbreviated list, see below:

  • I will not take candy from a stranger in an unmarked white van.
  • I will not wear high heels every day.
  • I will not cheer for Notre Dame (as a dedicated Boston College alumna).
  • I will not be convinced that yoga pants do not qualify as real pants.

Yoga Pants

-Lexie

2 thoughts on “2013: My Year of “Yes”

  1. Pingback: Adulthood on My Terms | Workout Wonks

  2. Pingback: We’re old. | Workout Wonks

Leave a Reply

