Getting Back on Track

I was going to title this post “From Workout Wonk to Workout Wimp”, but I thought that might be too harsh on myself.

The truth is, I’ve been slacking. Hardcore. I got engaged, moved to a new neighborhood, started a new job, and life got away from me. It’s difficult to maintain a routine when you’re getting used to new surroundings, new schedules, and new people. While I love all the exciting things going on in my life, it’s tough to get back into healthy habits.

Our fellow fun fitness blogger, DC Fit Crasher, said it appropriately on Twitter: “Been there too! Had to take a few months off and focus on the basics.”

Focus on the basics.

So that’s where I am. Back to basics. Back to beginner level Vinyasa classes. Back to not turning the resistance knob quite so far to the right during spin. Back to running? Well, I wouldn’t go that far…

I have my first training session with Ellyn at XSport Fitness tomorrow at 5a.m. I guess you can add “waking up early” to the basics category, too.

-Kristine

4 thoughts on “Getting Back on Track

  1. Thanks for the shout out, Kristine! Totally know where you’re coming from. Enjoy the re-entry and wherever the ride may take you. From what I’ve been able to tell so far, the basics are pretty awesome all on their own (and so is leaving that spin-bike resistance dial where it is) : ) Good luck!

Leave a Reply

