WorkoutWonks Span the Nation!

The WorkoutWonks have had an exciting ride. What was born in cubicles at a public affairs firm has transformed along with Kristine and myself. We have had career transformations, Kristine has gotten dogs and engaged and now I am moving.

About a year ago I threatened to move back west, but never pulled the trigger. This time, it is real and next week I say goodbye to DC. The desert sun and cacti of Arizona are beckoning me back. Washington has provided me a great life for the last 4 years. My career has taken a few twists and turns that have led me to where I am now. The relationships I have created, the things I have learned and the experiences I have had could only have happened here. As corny as it may sound, there is something special about the nation’s capital. The people that move here are smart, driven and determined to become something. Although that “something” may shift and change during a tenure in this city, it has a powerful effect on your journey.

My next step will be just as exciting as these past few have been. With an entrance back into the corporate world, I look forward to approaching fitness in a completely new way. While I have loved working in fitness full time for the past 18 months, I’m excited to try new things and find a new rhythm. I will inevitably teach yoga and cycling again, but for the time being I am going to take classes and find inspiration from my former and new teachers alike.

The original mission of WorkoutWonks was to share with our community our experiences in fitness and how it fits in the lives of young working professionals. Fitness has been my world for over a year, and it has been difficult to find the same fulfillment in my own routine that I once had. I look forward to exploring and becoming a part of new communities and kicking it in my cowboy boots. I will be reinvigorating WorkoutWonks and sharing my experiences in the Southwest.

Thank you to all of our friends, fellow bloggers, studio owners, gym managers and instructors who have welcomed us with open arms. You have given us opportunities to write and share our passion with others. If you are ever in Arizona, let me know! I look forward to visiting and seeing how this wonderful city’s fitness scene has transformed even more!

Tons of Wonk love,

Lexie

Boots

Typing

Leave a Reply

